How do I write books like LOTM or RI?

Discussion in 'Author Discussions' started by Translator_Lich, May 22, 2023.

Tags:
  1. Translator_Lich

    Translator_Lich Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2023
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Reading List:
    Link
    some tips in points
     
    imK likes this.
  2. Hidetaka Miyazaki

    Hidetaka Miyazaki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    97
    Reading List:
    Link
    Your question sis way too general.
     
    imK likes this.
  3. Translator_Lich

    Translator_Lich Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2023
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Reading List:
    Link
  4. Xian Piete

    Xian Piete Author of many mediocre stories

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    301
    Reading List:
    Link
    Start with prework. You need to be an expert on the world you are writing about. What is the average person's life like from when they are born to when they die? You need to know how the governments of that world are structured. You need to think of all the questions, all the answers and then write them down. Once you have a world for the story to live in, then you need to decide what that story is going to be about. It doesn't need to be something original, just a simple story like a revenge tale, monomyth or a buddy cop story.
     
    imK likes this.
  5. Snuffy Smith

    Snuffy Smith Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2023
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    24
    Reading List:
    Link
    Not sure what RI is.

    For Lord of the Rings, the best answer I can give is "life experience." Tolkien was 45 years old when he started it, 57 when he finished, already a well respected Oxford professor and scholar. He used Germanic and Norse mythology as inspiration for his work, and it makes a lot of sense that he would, as he was probably the foremost expert on those topics in the English-speaking world at that time.
     
    Nig likes this.
  6. Xian Piete

    Xian Piete Author of many mediocre stories

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    301
    Reading List:
    Link
    He wasn't asking about Lord of the Rings, he was asking about Lord of the Mysteries and RI is Reverend Insanity. These are Chinese novels.
     
    Saorihirai, ReaderReader and imK like this.
  7. Snuffy Smith

    Snuffy Smith Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2023
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    24
    Reading List:
    Link
    ...oh.
     
    Saorihirai and imK like this.
  8. Gin_Hindew

    Gin_Hindew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    415
    Reading List:
    Link
    Begin by consuming more works just as complex, and be sure to have variety n consumption
    Having mostly one type of media generates creative endogamy, with authors repeating the same elements over and over, consuming different genres and media helps t diversify your skillset and perspective
    I also recommend to consume very trashy works, so you can see whats the kind of trashyness thats entertaining, and what is just trash, in order to avoid it
    Once you have that, make sure to write down the big reveals and secrets of world building, so you dont lose track of them
    Then begin, and remember its most likely going to take several tries to get something good
     
    imK likes this.
  9. toleroid

    toleroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2020
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    69
    Reading List:
    Link
    This just sounds like an excuse to read more web novels LOL
     
    imK likes this.
  10. Zeusomega

    Zeusomega M.D of Olympus Pvt Ltd. Seeking [Boltzmann brain]

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    2,853
    Likes Received:
    3,653
    Reading List:
    Link
    Start writing will be my biggest suggestion, doesn't matter what you write just start putting your thoughts into words first.

    Once you do that you'll slowly understand the economy of world building, how you need to pace the plot progression, etc...

    Keep a target like "10,000" words by weekend or something and keep to it.
     
    imK likes this.
  11. imK

    imK Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    2,630
    Reading List:
    Link
    THIS.

    Ideas are great and everyone has them. Many people have great ideas that never see the light of day, because doing the work is much less fun and more about consistency.

    When I first started writing with the goal of being published my goal was 500 words per week and I broke it down day by day. Now I hit minimum 5k per day. It wasn't instant, it wasn't even fast. I walked, swam and crawled to my target some days.

    If you want to be a writer it's really simple. Read a lot, write a lot. Do it some more. Then some more. Rinse and repeat forever. It will help to learn as much as you can to learn about the process, to learn from your mistakes, to get used to all the details. Still, nothing is going to help you as much as just writing.

    Write and love what you do and be consistent.
     
    Zeusomega likes this.
  12. DREDD_SAMA

    DREDD_SAMA Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2021
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Reading List:
    Link
    Just read a lot of books. Not just web novel. Read everything. LOTM is such a masterpiece that couldn't be made without a vast array of knowledge about writing in general and so many other fields. I still wish that cuttlefish had added romance to it as well since it could really use some. But still it is amazing.
     
  13. Nig

    Nig Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2023
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Reading List:
    Link
    Lotm or Ri? It’s in theory not too hard for authors to make stuff similar to lotm. Just appeal to the self-insert mentality of readers. Give the mc an op cheat that promises to make him superior and super cracked. Give regular power ups every so often to stimulate the dopamine release in the apes. Most importantly, make sure to simplify the plot with good vs evil dynamics. No moral ambiguity nor deep philosophical thoughts allowed since the apes will get confused. Remember, the monkeys are not here for an original and thought-provoking story. They are here to self insert into the fictional world and escape from reality. As a bonus, remember to make a meme antagonist like Amon to make the novel more iconic. There should be more but I can’t think of them rn. I hope these tips are helpful and u become another successful ‘virtual drug’ manufacturer. Best of luck to you
    No lol
     
  14. kohaichi

    kohaichi [Drifting in the world of Novels]

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    191
    Reading List:
    Link
    LOTM author answered in an interview how he does his work before writing everything, what Xian Piete mentioned was in that interview.
    U may have get an idea how those authors do their work from those so better check them out. Am pretty sure RI author has one too. Those interviews— I mean.
    You should check out cuttlefish's recent interviews about his new work "Circle of Inevitability", I remember that shares his experiences in prep work in there too.
    There are lots of interview from cuttlefish, so you have a lot of reading to do. And a lot more when you actually get started doing research for your novel.
     
  15. GuyWhoForgetsShu

    GuyWhoForgetsShu Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2024
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    15
    Reading List:
    Link
    I am writing a novel similar in length and complexity to those, so I know a little bit about how to do it.

    First thing you need to do before even thinking about writing your novel is to get the world set. Open a Google Doc, think up a unique cultivation system (No Qi Refining, Foundation Establishment, and then Golden Core or Nascent Soul), plot your cultivation system down and what's unique about each realm. Each realm should be a qualitative change and each further realm should be more difficult to get to than the last. Each realm should have meaning and build up on itself.

    For my novel, my cultivation system is where people open up an "inner world" and then comprehend elemental laws, spacetime rules, etc. etc. in order to go to the next realm, and then have something unique (for example, in the 5th realm of the inner world cultivation, one can summon the strongest aspect of their world, so if someone volcanic firey world that's desolate; they would be able to summon magma floes to fight with). That's just me so don't take it too seriously.

    Secondly, develop your world, politics, and cosmology. Higher realms, lower realms, all of your countries and their situations, your world size, your continent level, the oceans, different factions like the "Gabadook Sect in the North" or something like that. This is all easier said than done. Make the cosmology believable to an extent, don't be like Desolate Era and have a single commandery be millions of f---- km long for no reason. At least upscale it to the continent being millions of km long. Have realistic geography, so a mountain range with a desert behind it because of rain shadow, or a massive beach because your oceans are big, etc. Divide it up into subcontinents or domains so you can have better terms when the MC is traveling. LOTM was probably the best at world-building, all the factions were unique, their placement was right, the LOTM world had big but realistic geography. If you plan to write a "divine realm" or upper world, then do this for that world as well so you don't have to do it when your trying to write a chapter.

    Thirdly, build your characters. Don't make your MC a young master face-slapping machine that you only see in garbage webnovels you read to pass the time. Make him develop throughout the story and there should be a visible difference between the MC 100 chapters in vs 1 chapter in (if your pacing is good). Also about pacing, don't make your novel above 3000 chapters long, nobody needs it (RI suffered from this by a little).
    Add a deuteragonist, antagonist, and thought-out love interests. Don't make everyone a peerless jade beauty, add character flaws to both personality and physically (in other words, leave the MC room for development). Anyways, build a unique and believable personality for each character, even if they are side characters.

    So you developed your world and your characters, now its time to develop the plot.

    Write a basic outline of the overarching plot (arc 1: protag does so and so defeats so and so arc 2: protag is in trouble for beating so and so so he takes in so and so as his master) of course that's just a garbage plot I thought out in 5 seconds. Each Arc should be developmental to the protagonist and build off of the previous arc in a realistic manner. Write a more detailed outline of the first arc and then have the next 5 arcs or so be a little less detailed (you can write the outline better when you get to it).

    Editing this now. After proofreading this post it turns out I forgot to mention something. The Dao! Incorporate unique aspects other than cultivation into the power system of the world, I.g. at a high level you can mess around with the River of Time or Lines of Destiny or something like that. If you want, have different paths or "Daos" you can comprehend if you intend to do a classic-type of cultivation novel, basically do something that has unique power other than the cultivation of an individual.
    Edit mode - OFF!


    So now you have a world, characters, the plot, and unique accessories or different modes of cultivation entirely.

    All of this was just in preparation phase by the way, you haven't even touched your first chapter yet.
    If I'm missing anything, let me know in a reply.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2024
  16. GuyWhoForgetsShu

    GuyWhoForgetsShu Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2024
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    15
    Reading List:
    Link
    Want to know how to make RI? First off, have the MC from chapter 1 be indistinguishable from the MC in chapter 1500 (only a bit stronger). Same personality, same everything, just stronger. That's your first step, the second step is make the cultivation boring enough to where you can sleep. Choose the most boring paths you can ever pick, with one being "big muscle and make phantom that are strong" and the second path being "control lots of wolves". Second step down! Third step, ramble in your chapters about how smart the MC is and how convoluted his plan is.

    Fourth step, have MC do a morally wrong thing at the start of the chapter (make it as descriptive as possible), have MC say "I am so logical and cunning! I did something bad but I did it because it is logical! Hoo hoo hee hee!" Then talk about how convoluted and the "deeper meaning" behind his action. Then have the MC ramble on about how reputation isn't important and how society is wrong and everyone else besides him is stupid.

    Fifth step, do this 2100 times and then publish!

    (Secret sixth step): Get banned by Chinese authorities because you filled your novel with descriptive gore.